Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner
Administration Header Image

Dean's Teaching Excellence Awards

2013 Winners

Dean’s Excellence Award: Innovation in Teaching (tie)

The Clinical Simulation Team: These faculty volunteers led the effort to create a new model for clinical simulation called for in the UTSD Change Initiative of 2010, using virtual patients in a new curriculum unlike any other in dental education. Now in its second year, the new curriculum is fully integrated into the DS3, DS4, DH1 and DH2 clinical programs. Team members included Associate Professor Deborah Franklin, DDS; Assistant Professor Gargi Mukherji, DDS; Professor Donna Warren-Morris, RDH, MEd; Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Simulation Harold Henson, RDH, MEd; Associate Professor Darla McKitrick, RDH, MS; Assistant Professor Joanna Allaire, RDH, MDH; and the late Associate Professor Alan E. Levine, PhD.

Dean’s Excellence Award: Innovation in Teaching

Ryan Quock, DDS, associate professor, Restorative Dentistry and Prosthodontics: Honored for creating and implementing a new course that required unifying a team of general dentists and prosthodontists; created a publication series, “The Affected Dentist,” in The Journal of the Greater Houston Dental Society; and secured grant funds for work on fluoride varnish, with results in MedEdPORTAL.

Dean’s Excellence Award: Scholarship in Teaching

Gene C. Stevenson, DDS, MS, associate professor, Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences: Honored for his work directing both sections of the removable prosthodontics curriculum, teaching in other preclinical courses, and providing clinical instruction in both pre- and postdoctoral programs. He completed a master of public health degree and has leveraged this learning opportunity into a more effective curriculum in the courses he directs. Stevenson is enrolled in the blended Evidence-based Health Care Master of Science program at the University of Oxford in England.

Dean’s Excellence Award: Volunteer

S. Jerry Long, DDS, adjunct associate professor: A 1966 alumnus of UTSD, Long has been a volunteer faculty member since 1987 but has become even more involved since selling his practice in 2012, serving as Advisory Council Chair and on the UT Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Development Board. Of particular note: His work with Dr. Boyd Shepherd to set up the new Professional Resource Center.

Dean’s Excellence Award: Research

Gena D. Tribble, PhD, assistant professor, Department of Periodontics and Dental Hygiene: Since joining UTSD in 2008, Tribble has had nine peer-reviewed journal publications, two book chapters and three invited-review articles. She was awarded a multi-year grant funded by the NIH to “determine the molecular mechanisms underlying genetic variability in P. gingivalis and to measure the effect of DNA changes on bacterial films.” She collaborates with UTHealth’s School of Nursing and Medical School, Rice University and Baylor College of Medicine and mentors faculty, postdoctoral fellows, residents and dental and dental hygiene students.

Dean’s Excellence Award: Research

Nadarajah Vigneswaran, BDS, DrMedDent, DMD, professor, Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences: Honored for his nearly two-decade history of basic, translational and clinical research in oral cancer. He has extramural grant funding of more than $2.5 million from the National Institutes of Health and U.S. Department of Defense. He has published more than 95 journal articles and book chapters in high-impact biomedical and specialty journals and has presented at several high-profile national and international cancer research meetings. He collaborates with investigators at UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and Rice University and has mentored numerous faculty members, postdoctoral fellows, residents and predoctoral students while maintaining his work with UTSD’s pathology consulting service and UT Dentists.